Lactation Recipes

Our little one will be here in only 5 days! FIVE DAYS! I’m so ready!
Contractions are killer animated-laughing-image-0175 … But seriously … I’m ready!

Sorry it’s taken me a bit to get going on the second part of the freezer meals. I promise I will get them posted soon! In the meantime, I’m going to throw in a few links to lactation snacks, drinks, and breakfasts that I’ve been working on this week!

 
Banana Chocolate Chip Lactation Muffins – I made these in the mini muffin pan (the recipe yielded about 24 muffins) and put most of them in the freezer in a gallon Ziploc. I left out the nuts, and I cooked these for a lot less time than the recipe calls for. They were done after about 15 minutes, so you might want to keep an eye on them in the oven.

 
Chocolate Banana Lactation Smoothie – I peeled, cut, and froze the bananas ahead of time, so that they would be ready to throw into the blender with everything else. While researching the best way to freeze bananas, I read that they will last in the freezer this way for 2-3 months. I also read that you should freeze them flat on parchment paper (or something else non-stick), and then transfer them into Ziploc bag. This way, the bananas do not stick together. I also substituted regular milk for Almond milk in this recipe (healthier, and I like the taste better!). In case you’re wondering, in the picture the bananas look a little over ripe in some areas. This is okay! Bananas will not ripen in the freezer, so you don’t want them to be too fresh to use.

 

Overnight Lactation Oatmeal – I doctored these up a little to fit my taste (not a fan of plain oatmeal). I added some fruits into each one so that I would have an assortment of flavors. I added dried cherries, fresh baked apples (diced and seasoned with allspice), and diced cinnamon apples. Store these in an airtight container and they should last a week or two in the fridge!
31712203_10215182905102122_6529037862644482048_n.jpg

 
Peanut butter Oatmeal Lactation Bars – This recipe is not specifically for lactation, so I added 1 Tbsp of Flax Seed and 1 Tbsp of Brewer’s Yeast Powder to it. I also drizzled some extra peanut butter/honey mix on top and sprinkled with chocolate chips. I will cut them into bars and store them in the refrigerator in a Ziploc bag. You can leave them stored at room temp in a Ziploc or container if you want them gooey instead of solid.31791432_10215182978543958_8887206509964951552_n.jpg

 

That’s about all I’ve got for now! Keep checking back for the Part 2 of Freezer Meals!

Join my Facebook group as well at Surviving Seven!

~~Heather~~
~Proverbs 22:6~

Leave a comment