Hospital Prep!

I feel super prepared for this baby! I’ve got a hospital bag packed and a birth plan! Whaaat!? I’ve never done either of these things with my other two births! I went to pre-register today at the hospital. It’s getting so close! Only 2 more days!

So, what’s in the bag?

31531794_10215206998784449_2125904740167450624_n

For Me:
– Nursing gowns
– Lactation snacks
– Breast pads (I highly recommend reusable! I got mine HERE and I only paid for shipping! Keep an eye out for promos!)
– Nipple cream (The hospital usually provides some, but I bought a brand that is lanolin free)
– No slip socks
– Hairbrush and other necessities
– Cell phone and charger (for the billions of pics I will be taking!)

For Baby:
– Cute outfits (including what she will wear home)
– Headband
– Socks
– Nursing pillow
– No scratch mittens
– Swaddlers and baby blanket

The hospital provides plenty of diapers and pacifiers for baby, so I won’t waste the room in my bag.

Now, my birth plan! I’ve never done this before, but after 2 c-sections I’ve come to realize there are some things I really want that I want to make sure I don’t miss! I’m not too picky or demanding 🙂

Here it is:

During Delivery:
*Husband remains in room for support during epidural
*Surgical drape lowered while baby is pulled out

After Delivery:
*Husband cuts umbilical cord
*Skin to skin with baby as soon as possible (after cleaning)
*Baby to be breastfed exclusively and as soon as possible (no bottles, pacifiers are okay)
*Mom offered pain medication as it is available
*Blood clot prevention

I think that’s it! I’m ready! Daddy’s ready! Kids are ready!
The big ones will be spending most of the weekend with their grandparents, so pray for them (the grandparents, not the kids lol). I probably won’t post again until we are back home after the small recovery time at the hospital.

Don’t forget to join my Facebook group! Surviving Seven!

~~Heather~~

Leave a comment